Seeking Stellar Software Entrepreneurs

I was planning to write a post called “What Makes a Good Software Entrepreneur?” when I came across this article about the Top Signals of Success for Software Entrepreneurs. Great! Now I don’t have to write the post. ;-)

So the Top Signals of Success for Software Entrepreneurs are:

  • You like to experiment
  • You like to read and learn
  • You like to tinker and build
  • You are opportunistic
  • You are an artist
  • You Live On Email
  • You are considerate, respectful and nice
  • You have a proclivity for action
  • You attract others like yourself
  • You are a realist
  • You are exceptionally intelligent
  • You are fundamentally likable
  • You exhibit “balanced frugality”
  • You work hard
  • You just love the game

(Be sure to read the article for explanations.)

While I don’t agree with everything on the list (pretty much only because I hate email ;-) ), on the whole I thought the article got it right. It’s hard, however, to self-evaluate many of these characteristics.

Of course I can’t really speak with any real authority on the subject yet, being only an entrepreneur-in-training… So I’ll be sure to revisit this subject again when I hit one out of the ballpark. ;-)

4 comments
  1. heri said:

    i think he forgot to write something about the ability to focus, especially these days when you have many projects, work, requests (and i am not even talking about all other stuff like RSS, email, twitter)

    like now i have so many projects i need to finish and other new frameworks/tech i would like to try

    just wishing there was 48 hours in a day.

  2. Fred said:

    Ha, that’s funny. That was #2 on the draft of my original post: Ability to Focus Intensely. I guess I wasn’t able to focus enough to append it to his list until you reminded me. ;-)

Leave a Reply

