Declaring Email Bankruptcy

Bankruptcy

My friends, please let it be known that today, I am declaring Email Bankruptcy.

I first heard about this concept when Lawrence Lessig declared email bankruptcy in 2004. Fast forward to today, and I find myself in a similar predicament… As of this writing, I have more than 900 unread emails, and I do not have enough hours in a day to process all my incoming emails and my backlog… and so, I’ve junked my entire backlog of emails.

I am very sorry, but if you’ve sent me an email and never gotten a response back, chances are I never actually even had a chance to read it and a reply is not forthcoming. If it is very important, please resend it to me again and I should be in a better position to respond.

A Fresh Start

As Standout Jobs heads into its next stage of development, it becomes very important for me to have a clear plate and a clear mind. This also applies to Cat’s Corner, which is moving to a new location as of Friday August 1st.

Taking this drastic step will give me the fresh start that I need.

It remains to be seen whether I will be successful. I could easily spend all my working hours reading and writing email. But if I did that I wouldn’t be able to get any real work done; which, for a techie, requires long hours of concentration without distraction. So the logical conclusion is that any overflow email will continue to accumulate until I have to declare email bankruptcy again.

Email by its nature has its limits. It’s a gift that keeps on giving. If I could get away with it, I wouldn’t use email at all!

How to Contact Me

Again, my apologies if you’ve emailed me and never gotten a response. But now, knowing my non-preference for email, let me give you the secret to contacting me and actually getting a response… If you’d like to contact me, please try the following channels first:

  • Phone
  • Instant Messenger: I’m on Skype, MSN, gTalk, Yahoo! Messenger, AIM, and ICQ. (Protip: Use Adium to not go crazy with multiple chat clients)

And if you still absolutely must send email, please send them to the appropriate application-specific email addresses for a higher rate of response:

  • Standout Jobs Stuff: fred at standoutjobs dot com
  • Cat’s Corner Stuff: fred at catscorner dot ca
  • Social Life Stuff: Facebook messaging (Be warned that I will ignore anything business-y on Facebook.)
  • Anything else: fredngo at gmail dot com
7 comments
  1. Bonnie said:

    You are hilarious, Fred. I know how you feel, and I don’t get nearly the number of e-mails you do … good luck with Standout and with CC! Save me a dance, that is, if you find time …

  2. I understand that one Fred. There was a really good article on lifehacker on how to manage e-mail and use filters to sort them into a manageable sequence. I’ve had some luck with it. I’ll try to dig up the link for you if you want.

  3. Haha Fred,

    At one point, my inbox surpassed 1k unread. I spend 3 days straight doing nothing but email to finally get it down to 300. Now it’s back to 440 within a month.

    I think the world should switch to instant messenger already.

  4. Glen said:

    Congrats on your new Cat’s Corner facility, Fred! I’ll be visiting Montreal in late August (the weekend of the daytime Swing l’ete) and am looking forward to the Friday event there.

  5. heri said:

    didn’t you receive the $1 million payment I sent to you by paypal?

    i guess you didn’t see the email notification. the actual payement was cancelled last week unfortunately.

    :)

Leave a Reply

